Bay-Lake Regional Planning Commission

425 S. Adams Street,
Suite 201
Green Bay, WI 54301
Phone: (920) 448-2820
Fax: (920) 448-2823

Counties Served:
Brown, Door, Florence, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto, Sheboygan

Year Created: 1972

Economic Development:
The Commission fulfills its economic development responsibilities through the ongoing monitoring of economic conditions in the Region and through the implementation of the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). Through the CEDS planning process, the Commission has identified three regional strategies to pursue. These strategies are: the linkage and coordination of Federal, State, local, and private economic development programs; regional and community economic development; and create opportunities for investment.

Community Development:
The Commission provides technical assistance on a variety of planning issues to local communities in the Region on a wide variety of projects. Commission staff works with local communities on such specific projects as comprehensive plans, tax incremental financing district plans, capital improvement programs, zoning ordinances, grant applications, community surveys, and trade area surveys.

Land Use and Environmental Resources:
A major environmental focus of the Commission continues to be the Great Lakes issues associated with Lake Michigan and Green Bay. Working in conjunction with the Wisconsin Coastal Management Program and the US Environmental Protection Agency, the Commission has worked on issues such as the impacts of development in coastal areas, bluff stability along Lake Michigan, public access and natural areas protection. The Commission has also been involved with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources addressing issues related to Lake Michigan and the lower portion of Green Bay, as well as the Manitowoc/Two Rivers, Marinette and Sheboygan areawide sanitary sewer plans.

Through its annual transportation work program, the Commission addresses issues on air and harbor planning, highway studies and plans, rail transportation and acquisition issues, elderly and handicapped transportation, and local transportation assistance plans. In addition, the Commission conducts urban transportation planning activities as the Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Sheboygan Urbanized Area. The Commission conducts special projects such as bicycle facility and corridor planning as well.

Information and Data Systems:
The Commission functions as a depository of technical information and data derived from Federal, State and local sources. Information is provided to public and private groups and individuals as required. The Commission maintains its status as an affiliate of the Wisconsin State Data Center. The Commission has an established Geographic Information System (GIS), which is used extensively to provide mapping and database integration, as well as for analysis of development trends and identification of critical natural resources. Aerial photography is available for the Region.

  • Operating Characteristics
  • Commission and Method of Selection
  • Current Commissioners
  • Staff
2014 Budget:
(38% Federal, 33% State, 18% Local Levy, 6% Local Contracts, 5% Miscellaneous)
Nineteen persons serve as Commissioners on the Commission with one opening.
Of the three Commissioners from each member county,
one is appointed by the County Board,
one is appointed by the Governor from a list provided by the County Board,
and one is directly appointed by the Governor.


Brown: Tom Sieber
Door: Ken Fisher
Florence: Edwin Kelly; Larry Neuens; Rich Wolosyn
Kewaunee: Eric Corroy; Virginia Haske; Chuck Wagner
Manitowoc: Donald Markwardt (Chair); Chuck Hoffman; Dan Koski
Marinette: Mary Meyer; Open; Open
Oconto: Terry Brazeau; Dennis Kroll; Thomas Kussow
Sheboygan: Mike Hotz; Ed Procek; Brian Yerges


Authorized Staff: 13
Staff Contacts:
Cindy J. Wojtczak, Executive Director, Economic Development Planner
Jeffrey C. Agee-Aguayo, Sheboygan MPO Transportation Planner
Amy Carrozzino-Lyon, Phragmites Project Coordinator
Brandon G. Robinson, Community Assistance Planner
Angela Kowalzek-Adrians, Natural Resources Planner
Joshua W. Schedler, GIS Coordinator
Richard J. Malone, Office Accounts Coordinator